Personal Property Assessments:
Every person owning or holding real property or tangible personal property on the first day of January, including all such property purchased on that day, shall be liable for taxes thereon during the same calendar year. Chapter 137.075 RSMO
The Assessor will send out Assessment List forms in January of each year. It is your responsibility to send a completed form to the assessor by March 1 listing all the taxable personal property you owned January 1. If your form is late, the penalty ranges from $10 to $100, depending on the amount of tax valuation involved (see penalty fee schedule below). The assessor may contact you to follow up if the form is not complete.
If you are a new resident of Adair County or will be as of January 1, be sure and notify the Assessor’s Office for a blank personal property assessment list form at (660)665-4423.
You can file your personal property assessment list Online by clicking the link below:
Personal Property Assessment Cycle:
Personal Property is assessed each year. Property is assessed as of January 1. Taxpayers must submit a list of personal property to the Assessor before March 1 of each year. State statutes require a penalty to be added to your personal property tax bill if the list is not returned by the deadline.
A person moves into Missouri on March 1, 2018. He/she are not assessed until January 1, 2019 and does not pay taxes on property owned that date until December of 2019. A person moves out of Missouri in June of 2018. He/she was assessed January 1, 2018 on property owned on that date and would pays taxes December 2018 in Missouri even though he/she has moved away.
Liability for taxes:
Taxes are due and must be paid by December 31 on property owned to the Adair County Collector.
Remember, personal property is assessed (valued) each year by the Assessor’s office. Your assessment list is due by March 1st.
The taxpayer is required to update all information concerning the make, model, and year of autos, and the price and year of purchase for machinery, office equipment, etc. with the County Assessor at the start of each new year. Chapter 137.080 RSMO.
Address Changes and NEW RESIDENT to Adair County
If you are a Adair County resident and moved within the county or a new resident from another county or state; fill out the Change of Address form and mail or drop off the form at the Assessor’s Office.
New Resident/First Time Personal Property Owners
A blank Personal Property Assessment List will need to be filled out ONLY if you are a NEW resident for the CURRENT TAX YEAR or a first time personal property owner. Mail, or drop off the form at the Assessor’s Office.
A tax waiver indicates a specific person, business, or corporation does not owe any personal property taxes for a specified tax year. A tax waiver is only used to license a vehicle, motorcycle, trailer, or other assets. You may be entitled to a tax waiver if one of the following applies:
● A new resident to the state
● This is the first licensed asset you have ever owned
● You did not own any personal property on January 1st of the prior year
● You are in the military and your home of record is not Missouri (LES papers required)
Applying for a Tax Waiver
Application for a tax waiver must be made in person at the Assessor’s Office.
The following items are required when applying for a tax waiver:
● Front and back of the title (with back of the title filled out) or title application or title receipt
● Driver’s license (if it is an out of state license, proof of physical address is required)
● Current phone number (and optional: email address)
● Reason for the tax waiver (see above)
● For a leased vehicle tax waiver
○ physical address of the lessee
○ title application
● For a business vehicle tax waiver
○ Missouri Secretary of State filing or any paperwork showing when business started
○ title (with back of the title filled out) or title application or title receipt
Penalty for Filing Late
If any person shall fail to deliver the required assessment list to the assessor by the first day of March, the owner of the property which ought to have been listed shall be assessed a penalty added to the tax bill, based on the assessed value of the property that was not reported, as follows [in the following table].” (RSMo. 137.280)
Based on Assessed Valuation ($)
Late Filing Penalty
9,001 – up $105
Exceptions to the Late Filing Penalty
The Assessor has the authority to waive the penalty in specific situations including:
1. Taxpayer is in military service and out of state
2. Taxpayer filed on time but in wrong county
3. Loss of records due to fire, theft, fraud, or flood
4. Taxpayer can show the assessment list was mailed by due date with evidence of postmark
5. Assessor determines no assessment list form was mailed to the taxpayer for specific year
6. Neglect occurred as a direct result of the actions or inactions of the county, its employees, or contractors